Colour Blindness

Date: 6-I-2012
Name of collector: Melanie Ezra
Size: 2.5″ x 2.5″
Identification: 4.2.1 Eighteen ‘Clone’
The ripped paper elements in my collages are printed out on a very cheap HP printer. This printer is colourblind. I’ve tried recalibrating and resetting but it still sees the world differently to what it should. The yellow pieces in this clone should be green. In the parent collage my printer saw them as purple.


I’ve thought about replacing my printer. But then, the random outcome is not such a bad thing. Just as my [re]adventures of little Viv gave random outcomes from a cheap little camera, so my colour scheme for my collages is determined by a funny cheap little printer.

The only issue I have with this is that the clone produced is less warm and friendly in comparison to the original. I am very pleased with the compositional outcome of the clone but I cannot warm to her like I can to the parent.

I am done with 4.1 Eighteen. She will not produce any more offspring.