Reverser

It’s taken far too long to get to this point but my persistence is starting to pay off. This is Cadillac – currently 4 layers of hand-cut paper with the option for far more by the end of the month.

I’m starting to finally feel at home with this piece now and I’m definitely on target for another completed layer by the end of this week. I’m not convinced this needs to be as deep as previous assemblages in the Structured Chaos series which will leave me scope for perhaps doing something different with the remaining copies.

I’ve always kept these white reverse sides for showing as work in progress but there is an inherent beauty in them as they stand. It may be that once we’ve finished Cadillac that an even more abstract white ‘reverser’ could be created in order to share and show the process of this series. I’ll have to see how many copies are left over once the first Cadillac is completed and consult my partner Ben Honebone to see if this is something worth considering as part of the series.

I’m also considering creating a stop-motion video to show the creation of a whole artwork. It’s hard to see how much work actually goes into one of these artworks unless you see the whole creation from beginning to end. Lots to consider and a lot of cutting to do before this series is done.

IMG_20151014_102015-2

One thought on “Reverser

Leave a comment